New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Start of race
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Start of race

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
H2 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 17
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 373
Post Options Post Options   Quote H2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Start of race
    Posted: 23 May 19 at 3:38pm
Very interesting and useful - thanks!
H2 #115
Back to Top
mozzy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Feb 12
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1078
Post Options Post Options   Quote mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 19 at 12:21pm
For some context, the tide was going left to right. This is probably why black was waiting for a gap to show but because of the tide it never did. Then the wind was also in right shift which exacerbated the situation. 

I reckon we lost a length on the late trigger (@0-1sec), regardless of the boat to windward. I reckon we lost another boat length just from them being there on our wind (between 2-5 sec). 

Then I reckon we lost a third boat length by holding high (@5-6sec), but this was a conscious decision as we were in the right shift and I didn't want sail low closing my lane then have to tack out immediately on to header. Instead I lost a little distance forwards but held height and the lane by squeezing aggressively high. 

If the wind was average or left, then I think you'd be correct, better to get bow forward and over the line then tack out on the lifted tack before you feel the effects of the dirty lane. 

There's quite a lot cut from the beat but 1634 basically rolls the two boats to leeward (337 & 1391).  1391 tacks out first when they get rolled by 337 and duck us. 1634 rolls 337 next, but 337 hold on to the lift in his dirty. All this time we've drawn about level with 337. For some reason 1634 then tacked out before the header came, maybe to loosely cover 1391? 

1634 comes back from the right with 1391 and they've lost out to us & 337. 1391 passes clear behind us and continues over left with 337 who tacks back left. 1634 tacks on our leebow. So, I think pinching up high was the right call to preserve our lane, even at the expense of a boat length in that moment... 1634 then tacks and ducks us as we boldy march on well past the starboard layline with the tide still going strongly left to right!  337 leads and 1634 is second. 

Breeze fills in on the left downwind and 1391 is first to gybe in to it. We should have gybed on top of 1634 when they went. Anyway, by the leeward mark 1391 were leading, 1634 second, us third and 337 4th. 

Positions close up on the next beat and we squeeze past 1634 with a well judged lay in to the windward mark.  Positions remain the same, except 1634's rudder falls off gybing in to the leeward mark and they retire. 

So, in summary, I regret not triggering soon enough, I regret going over the layline and I regret not being the first to gybe on the first run. But, I think coming up high to preserve the lane over getting bow forward was the right call as those who went out right early lost out.   

Twas good racing... and the HISC regatta is back on this weekend, forecast looks super again! 


Edited by mozzy - 23 May 19 at 2:20pm
YouTube Channel
RS800 1144
Back to Top
H2 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work
Avatar

Joined: 26 Jul 17
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 373
Post Options Post Options   Quote H2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 19 at 8:08am
@Mozzy - my initial thought when I looked at the video was that whilst you are in the right I was just looking at how much you lost to the rest of the fleet who was sailing away from both of you. Its easy from my office seat to say so but I wonder if a smaller luff without contact would have been better as it would have been enough to make black slow and freak out (he knew he was in the wrong!) and you would have lost out less to the rest of the fleet. If you were racing black for series position so you just wanted to be ahead of them overall in the race then I would have done the same but if I cared about my overall position in the fleet I might have been less aggressive on balance. I realise that is more a strategic POV rather than a rules one but wondered what you thought as well with hindsight?
H2 #115
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 938
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 May 19 at 7:49am
Originally posted by Henmch

If it was possible for the Windward boat A to keep clear of B by accelerating and crossing the line early even if there was for example a flag U flying could the leeward boat argue that this was boat As correct action to take to respond to leeward boat Bs luff even though boat A would be disqualified in the process?
If it was possible for A, by a seamanlike action, which would include sheeting in and advancing, to keep clear of B, then A has room to keep clear and B does not break rule 16.

But, depending on the exact relative positions of the boats and the conditions, it might be difficult for B to persuade a protest committee that it was indeed possible for A to accelerate enough to keep clear.

Referring to a U Flag start, perhaps you were thinking that room included space to comply with the rules, namely rule 30.3 U Flag Rule.  The definition of room only includes space to comply with a rule of Part 2 When Boats Meet and rule 31.  Room does not include room to comply with rule 30.3 and a right of way boat changing course is quite at liberty to push a give-way boat across the starting line.

As others have said, A doesn't have the option of not responding and taking a rule 44 penalty in preference to going over the line early.  In Match Racing that would be a double penalty on A.
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 938
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 19 at 11:00pm
Originally posted by mozzy

I think @2 seconds I'd headed up and we're both still clear behind the CV and B could have tacked out. But, with this thread in mind and it's not so clear cut, probably I was 1-2 seconds late on my trigger which makes it closer on whether I gave them time to react.  

Black would have stood more chance of tacking out if they hadn't got their pole out 2 foot! 

We're good mates and even as he was sliding in he was apologising, then did turns. 

You rack up on the start line on starboard and below the lay for the committee... you think you have all the rights. But then you change course on the gun and that lays you open to 'room to keep clear' 15/16. Similar to a port taker claiming you headed up and they could no longer cross you at the gun. 

So you were a little late pulling the trigger, but you made it in time.
 

Originally posted by mozzy

Had we not been next to the CV would it be different? If someone reached down on you like that mid line and you headed up you'd never lose protest. So is it that you need to only to give them room between yourself and them for them to keep clear, but also room between them and another object (in this case the CB)? 

Yes, being close to the CV (or any other object) makes a difference.

In clear water, a leeward boat luffing and  failing to give room to a windward boat to keep clear will be all about the rate of turn.

Once there is an object to windward constraining where the windward boat can go, failure to give room to keep clear arises from the leeward boat coming up and reducing the space between herself and the object to windward so that the windward boat cannot fit through it.

This looks a bit like rule 19, but it's different:  while rule 19 applies (when it applies) to a leeward boat changing course it also applies to a leeward boat  sailing a straight course, rule 16 applies only to a boat changing course, and in particular applies at starting marks, and windward give way racing boats when rule 19 does not


Edited by Brass - 22 May 19 at 12:01am
Back to Top
Fatboi View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 09 Aug 16
Location: Hampshire
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 159
Post Options Post Options   Quote Fatboi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 19 at 3:38pm
I am sure the protest committee would also agree that he could have also let his sails out and stopped, which would have avoided a collision. 

If you have your sails in and end up on top of a boat to leeward you are always going to struggle to claim you were in the right.  
Back to Top
mozzy View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 16 Feb 12
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 1078
Post Options Post Options   Quote mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 19 at 3:21pm
I think @2 seconds I'd headed up and we're both still clear behind the CV and B could have tacked out. But, with this thread in mind and it's not so clear cut, probably I was 1-2 seconds late on my trigger which makes it closer on whether I gave them time to react.  

Black would have stood more chance of tacking out if they hadn't got their pole out 2 foot! 

We're good mates and even as he was sliding in he was apologising, then did turns. 

You rack up on the start line on starboard and below the lay for the committee... you think you have all the rights. But then you change course on the gun and that lays you open to 'room to keep clear' 15/16. Similar to a port taker claiming you headed up and they could no longer cross you at the gun. 

Had we not been next to the CV would it be different? If someone reached down on you like that mid line and you headed up you'd never lose protest. So is it that you need to only to give them room between yourself and them for them to keep clear, but also room between them and another object (in this case the CB)? 
YouTube Channel
RS800 1144
Back to Top
Brass View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 24 Mar 08
Location: Australia
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 938
Post Options Post Options   Quote Brass Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 19 at 12:52pm
Originally posted by mozzy

Yes agree rule 16 applies, but if there is 3/4 of a boat length between them, then even if B headed up to head to wind i'd still think that would give A room to keep clear.

OK, it would be difficult for B to close a gap of 3/4 boat length in a F2.  Whether she did or not  would be up to the protest committee to find in terms of speeds, distances, time and contact.

A doesn't have mark room as there isn't any, so if they are luffed in to the CB by B, or don't keep clear of B because they are avoiding the CB then surely A is at fault?

No.  If B is 3/4 BL to leeward of the CV, there's plenty of room there for A, unless and until B changes course.

Once B changes course she is bound by rule 16 to give A room to keep clear and if she sandwiches A between herself and the CV, she's breaking rule 16.

... If I was B I'd be telling A they had no room rights and sailing a course that left no room.

B is good if she steadies on course while there is still space for A to bale out, if, however, B changes course once A has nowhere to go, B is breaking rule 16.

What do you think about the first couple of seconds of this video?

Doing the best I can with all the usual palaver about problems with video

@1 (W)hite looks like she is heading 1 to 2 BL to leeward of the CV

@1.5 W goes tiller down, sheet in, so she must be coming up, but still seems to be aiming clear below the CV and maybe 1BL behind the CV transom.

@2 W comes up, still showing daylight between her and the CV, (B)lack comes into view substantially overlapped on W.

@3 W still looks like she is aft of the transom of the CV so maybe B could have backed off and tacked out

@4 to @6 B accelerates into the gap

@7 contact between W and B.

Can't see whether there was contact between B and the CV, or how much space there was or was not between B and the CV.

Doesn't look like W comes up at all between @2 and @7.

W must have thought that she didn't break rule 16 because she continues racing.

B must have thought that she may have broken rule 11/14 without exoneration because she takes turns.



Edited by Brass - 21 May 19 at 1:02pm
Back to Top
JimC View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more
Avatar

Joined: 17 May 04
Location: United Kingdom
Online Status: Online
Posts: 6012
Post Options Post Options   Quote JimC Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 19 at 10:03pm
Originally posted by ClubRacer

Obviously if its a U flag situation A isn't going to do that and will probably opt for the penalty turns instead ruining the start for B

RRS 44.1b
if the boat ... gained a significant advantage in the race or series by her breach her penalty shall be to retire.

So if you try and dodge being over the line by breaking a rule you're going to score letters anyway.

Edited by JimC - 17 May 19 at 10:04pm
Back to Top
ClubRacer View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 26 Sep 15
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 108
Post Options Post Options   Quote ClubRacer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 19 at 9:13pm
Originally posted by Henmch

Thank you for your responses to my original question which confirm my understanding.

If it was possible for the Windward boat A to keep clear of B by accelerating and crossing the line early even if there was for example a flag U flying could the leeward boat argue that this was boat As correct action to take to respond to leeward boat Bs luff even though boat A would be disqualified in the process?

In that same article I posted Mark mentions a situation where A + B are in the middle of the line with no boats around them. A is stationary and going sideways into B. He then goes on to say A should sheet sails in to prevent him slipping sideways into B even if that means A crosses the start line.

Obviously if its a U flag situation A isn't going to do that and will probably opt for the penalty turns instead ruining the start for B


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy