New Posts New Posts RSS Feed: Best way to mount a GoPro?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Best way to mount a GoPro?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
cloudnine View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Aug 19
Location: UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 7
Post Options Post Options   Quote cloudnine Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Best way to mount a GoPro?
    Posted: 21 May 20 at 9:05am
Just looking at getting some footage of the kids when we return to to the water in the near future.

Any thoughts on the best way of mounting a GoPro on an RS Feva or Tera?
Back to Top
Sam.Spoons View Drop Down
Really should get out more
Really should get out more


Joined: 07 Mar 12
Location: Manchester UK
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 3059
Post Options Post Options   Quote Sam.Spoons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 20 at 9:54am
Spice 346 "Flat Broke"
Blaze 671 "supersonic soap dish"
Back to Top
Gordon 1430 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 Jun 17
Location: Lee on Solent
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 267
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gordon 1430 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 20 at 4:27pm
Hi 
Anybody else having an issue with video on your windows 10 pc, just tried to watch mine from the weekend and it comes up not compatible, also tried to watch one from last year which was OK before now incompatible.
Is it and M**rosoft update issue?
Gordon
Phantom 1430
Back to Top
Chris_H View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king
Avatar

Joined: 13 May 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 168
Post Options Post Options   Quote Chris_H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 20 at 10:14pm
GoPro 8 video working fine on Windows 10 for me -)
Back to Top
Mozzy View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 21 Apr 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 135
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 20 at 6:55am
Which GoPro?

If it's filmed in 4k, or 2.7k 60fps then it will use HVEC format, which won't play on media player. 
Back to Top
Gordon 1430 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 Jun 17
Location: Lee on Solent
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 267
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gordon 1430 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 20 at 8:19am
Hi Mozzy
Its a cool-I cam which is a cheap video without sound. has not been an issue before so annoying.

Gordon
Phantom 1430
Back to Top
Mozzy View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 21 Apr 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 135
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 20 at 8:53am
Ah, no idea then. Sorry
Back to Top
Gordon 1430 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 Jun 17
Location: Lee on Solent
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 267
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gordon 1430 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 20 at 2:40pm
what program on your PC do they should they run on?
Gordon
Phantom 1430
Back to Top
Gordon 1430 View Drop Down
Far too distracted from work
Far too distracted from work


Joined: 27 Jun 17
Location: Lee on Solent
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 267
Post Options Post Options   Quote Gordon 1430 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 20 at 3:16pm
Thanks for your attempted help. I needed the latest version of quick time player to work with the latest update for windows 10. 
Turns out camera does have microphone just had the sound turned down low.
Gordon
Phantom 1430
Back to Top
Mozzy View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king


Joined: 21 Apr 20
Online Status: Offline
Posts: 135
Post Options Post Options   Quote Mozzy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 20 at 10:01pm
Most MP4 or quicktime (MOV) files should play on media player. These are 'container' types which house the video information and tell the software how to play them.

Beneath that level you then have codecs. Codecs determine how the data is compressed. Some are aimed at editing and retain more information whilst some are aimed at playback and some at reducing file sizes. GoPro uses an advanced codec called HVEC for the more data intensive formats (higher definition  hiher frame rate).

Windows won't playback these HVEC MP4 videos becuase they can't unpack the compression. I think you can get plugins to allow playback however.

I don't tend to record in formats that require HVEC, because ultimately my stuff ends up on youtube and people can't tell the difference. So it's a waste of data (and rendering time). 

Sometimes I'll record in high detail if i want to crop in, or want a high frame rate. But then I tend to transcode before editing anyway. 

Sounds like this wasn't your problem, but lots of people by the latest GoPro for 4k, and then find out it won't playback for them (and they probably don't have a 4k monitor anyway!).
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Bulletin Board Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 9.665y
Copyright ©2001-2010 Web Wiz
Change your personal settings, or read our privacy policy