FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Laser 16

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
jamesroy View Drop Down

Online Status: Offline
Post Options Post Options   Quote jamesroy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Laser 16
    Posted: 12 May 11 at 1:34pm
What can people tell me about the Laser 16. I want to introduce my son to sailing, he is only 4 so getting something stable is the key priority.

I am an expericned sailor but mainly in large yachts and ballasted keel boats, my time in small boats was in Laser 1 and 420's etc so I have no experience of how stable the more passive dinghies are (Wayfarer etc).

The Laser 16 to me seems like a modern Wayfarer. OK I know its a dead class in terms of racing but right now I have no interest in that. Just looking for a cheap (budget .5-3k) stable and robust boat, minimal maintenance that I can keep at the sailing club or at home, tow it around etc.

Can you launch a Laser 16 down a slip without a car, I think its a pretty heavy boat?

The Moo View Drop Down
Really should get out more

Post Options Post Options   Quote The Moo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 11 at 1:43pm
If your son is only 4 might not a Laser 13 which was a scaled down 16 be a better option? Will certainly be a lot more maneagable ashore.....
Foiling_Toff View Drop Down
Posting king
Posting king

Post Options Post Options   Quote Foiling_Toff Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 11 at 1:52pm

I've not sailed one, but hopefully someone here will share some first hand experience.  What I would say from watching a couple at the club, is they do look stable, but very slow.  I would suggest the Wayfarer is probably the better option.  A newish one may even feel more modern than the laser 16.  The hHartley boats certainly look nice.